The ‘Feeling festive’ Starter- Pack for Christians.

By: Tatum-Lee

The festive season brings about a new sense of freedom, doesn’t it? Most business close down, everybody is in full holiday cheer, buying gifts, getting gifts and making holiday plans. Most of us get off from work, take a break from our chaotic lives, just to refresh. Sometimes Christians take a break from being Christian during this season as well.

You know this to be true. Whether you have done this secretly or showcased your ‘holiday cheer’ publicly, in your mind, heart, and spirit, you can be honest right now. This is a safe space.

I am putting my hand up. Not because I am proud of it, but because I know how powerful a good, honest testimony is. So allow me to be real for a second.

Every year around this time, my mind use to go into a frenzy. Family making plans, social calendar buzzing with ideas and even more plans.  Memories playing off like a power-point presentation on the ‘good old days’. Before I knew it, I would find myself stuck between a rock and a very hard place. I would convince myself that I was strong enough to be in the company of sin and not part take in it. It never worked, I would fall into the ‘Silly season’ and stay there until it was over.

Since I decided to put some measures in place to ensure that my life and behavior line up with the Word of God. It keeps me in check and restricts me from being disobedient and rebellious during this season.

  1. Be sensitive to the Holy Spirit.

But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all that I said to you. (John 14: 26)

You need to rely on the Holy Spirit for divine assistance. Ask Him what He thinks about the places you have been invited to. Are these places placing you in immediate danger? Listen to what He is saying and come into agreement with that immediately, don’t negotiate with God. If it is no! Then don’t go…there is no middle ground.

  1. Pray and Press

“Be always on the watch, and pray that you may be able to escape all that is about to happen and that you may be able to stand before the Son of Man.”(Luke 21:36)

You are going to have to be prayerful, even though everything around you is urging you not to be. Ask the Lord to help you be watchful and to discern your surroundings. Especially, when you are under attack. Satan is sly and manipulative. Be on guard.

3.   Are you strong enough?

“I am saying this for your benefit, not to place restrictions on you. I want you to do whatever will help you serve the Lord best, with as few distractions as possible.”(1 Corinthians 7:35)

Be honest with yourself. Are you strong enough to be in the company of the same thing/s that kept you bound before? Can you be in it’s or their company without leaving scarred or confused? If not, stay clear. When we willingly allow ourselves into those situations we are opening the door for the enemy to come in.

4. Recruit an accountability partner

“Brothers, if anyone is caught in any transgression, you who are spiritual should restore him in a spirit of gentleness. Keep watch on yourself, lest you too be tempted. Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.”(Galatians 6:1-2)

Accountability partners work. Particularly when they are stronger in the faith than you are. This person will encourage you and help you through those days when you feel completely alone.  You have to be committed to the process.

5. Remember what the Lord has done.

“Remember the wonders he has done, his miracles, and the judgments he pronounced”.(Psalm 105:5)

Calling to remembrance the things God has done for you throughout the year , really helps. I remember those times where I was destitute and the Lord saved me from my despair. It helps me rely on him and be accountable to Him and myself, and it puts me in a space where I really don’t want to break his heart.

These five things are highly successful in my life. If there are things you’d like me to add to the list, comment below.

THANK YOU!

*

12963422_10204327343983188_7559106821728187813_n

Tatum-Lee is a Born Again Christian, qualified Writer and Content producer who resides in Cape Town, lives on Facebook  and reads books for breakfast. She makes a conscious effort to remain on top of the news and is equipped to produce all kinds of content, works exceptionally well with briefs and makes people look Kwaai on Facebook.  She loves getting paid for her work, but really hates asking for money, so if ever you are in need of content, no rhetorical questions are allowed. Also, never use the word also.

Leave a Reply

